#30DaysofAutismAcceptance – Day 21

I apologise that there has been such a huge gap in between Day 20 and Day 21. But my life has been a little mental since the last time I’ve posted on here. I know that it was only meant to be a thing done in April, but seeing as I started, I should probably finish the series.

Day 21.  Talk about co-morbid conditions.  Do you have any other disorders commonly related to autism?  Were you misdiagnosed as something else first?

Co-morbid? That’s not an attractive word. I think I was one of the lucky ones who wasn’t misdiagnosed as a child. Or I don’t believe I have any of the conditions that are commonly referred to as co-morbid conditions of autism/aspergers.

What I do have is some conditions that are made worse for me because of my autism.

I have hayfever, which is pretty much being allergic to the outdoors. This makes my natural anxiety of being outdoors even worse in the summer. I find it very hard to fit in and act in a neurotypically acceptable fashion when my entire face itches. When the pollen count is high, my public face goes right out the window. It literally leaks outta me. I stim more when the pollen is high, and just touching my skin can send me into a meltdown.

I also suffer from Insomnia. This makes it very difficult for me to sleep. Sometimes I’ll go whole days with only a few hours kip in my system. This is where my grip on reality can start getting shaken, I just walk around in a daze not really awake or not really asleep. I hear things that haven’t been said, I see things that aren’t really there, and the ringing in my ears becomes a constant loud hum. The louder the ringing becomes the harder it becomes for me to sleep, and it becomes a vicious circle.

 

Leave a Reply

