#30DaysofAutismAcceptance – Day 4 : Family

Day 4.      Talk about your family and support.  Who in your life has helped you?  Have medical and mental health providers served your needs?  Do you feel like your family is supportive of you being autistic?

 

My family has always tried to be supportive of me, even when I haven’t always been the easiest person to support.

My mum tried to teach me to act as “normal” as I could, we clashed quite a lot though. As however “normal” I tried to act I was never what one consider a “normal” child growing up. I’d get frustrated quite easily, and my anger and violent tendencies were uncontrollable at points. I hurt a lot of people that I cared about growing up, I didn’t always mean to. But just getting through my day to day life was a struggle.

My Grancha was a massive help to me growing up, he always strived to give me the answers to the complex questions that I asked him, even doing maths once to work out how many years, months, weeks, days, hours, minutes and seconds he had been alive for.

As my dad was pretty much non-existent, my Granch, my step-father and my Uncle Ivor helped to raise me as much they could. Trying to give me a strong male role model. For their efforts I am eternally grateful. They helped make me into the person I am today. I just hope I make them proud.

In my family the cousins have always been quite close. But I was always closest to my older cousin Mimi and my cousin who is the same age as me Callie. They always took me as I was, didn’t try changing me and yes we have had our ups and downs, and we don’t see each other as often as we did. But when we do get together its like nothing has changed and we are still like three peas in a pods.

As for medical support I haven’t really had much. I’ve had counselling before but that wasn’t really for my autism. The one time I seeked medical help they chucked me on anti-psychotics. I’ve learnt not to ask for medical support anymore. I’d rather have bad days and good days. Rather than being a comatosed zombie.

Leave a Reply

