Doubts

“Our doubts are traitors. And make us lose the good we oft might win. By fearing to attempt.” – William Shakespeare

I have not actually read Measure for Measure, the play that this line comes from (although it was on the reading list). But I had a feeling that when I googled the term Doubt Quotes. That my homeboy Will would have one waiting for me to use.

I don’t really want to make a habit of using these daily word prompts, but today the prompt just happened to align with the way I feel.

Now let me get on thing straight. I love workshops, you bring in some work, it gets critiqued and you go away and try to make it better.

To be fair a lot of the problems i can fix. But one of my biggest issues is punctuation. I don’t know if its down to missing so much school when I was younger or what, but my punctuation skills are appalling.

I throw down commas like they are going out of fashion. I seem to be completely terrified of full stops. I can never quite get the grasp of speech marks or how to punctuate them. That is without mentioning colons, semi colons, hyphens and any other ink blots that completely baffle me.

Then worse still, I take to the books and the internet to try and find out how to use these tools of mass-confusion, and somehow, I leave feeling more in doubt than I was before I started.

So today, I am doubting myself. But tomorrow, I probably won’t.

Because doubting yourself short term is fine, it is good not to get overconfident. I think i was getting overconfident and that is probably why it hit me so hard. I was getting lazy, not proof-reading my work.

(Not that I have proof-read this mind, but then again you guys aren’t my tutor and you don’t take marks off for bad punctuation).

This little bit of self-doubt will make me want to get better.

Therefore I will get better, watch out you little inkblots I’m going to make you my bitch!

via Daily Prompt: Doubt

2 thoughts on “Doubts

  1. I think the commas thing is just dependent on what you’ve read and how you were taught to write. It’s a bad writing habit and we all have those, that’s why we have editing. You’ll probably break the commas habit as you write and edit more, so don’t worry too much about it, your writing is really awesome.

    Like

Leave a Reply

