Procrastination: Students’ best friend/worst enemy

It’s a tale as old as time, you got 101 things to do by yesterday but anytime you decide to make a start on anyone of these things, you go and find something that is infinitely more appealing. I am one of the worst people when it comes to procrastinating. But sometimes if I didn’t procrastinate I think I would probably go insane, or at least insaner (yes, I am fully aware that’s not a real word, but it should be). So today’s post is just a small list of some of my many forms of procrastination.

Gaming

The most common form of procrastination that I partake in.  Simply put I’m a gamer, I love gaming. There’s not much in this world that I love more than gaming, usually if it comes down to anything or gaming, anything can go fuck itself. This could even be something I really wanted to do, so when its gaming versus coursework, sorry coursework, I gotta go save the princess, kill some zombies, or become the god damn Dragon Born. Usually I only mean to disappear into a videogame world for a quick hour, but lo and behold, twelve hours later, I’ve caught 30 Pokémon, joined the Brotherhood of Steel, stopped Umbrella’s plans and died 100 hundred times in Dark Souls. In this time I could have read three plays, researched for essays, or wrote a short novel. Instead I now have cramp in my hand, and have only stopped gaming because the electric ran out.

Reading

I bet you’re thinking how is this procrastinating, aren’t you an English student Steve? You should be reading. Yes, I am an English student, I should be reading … the set texts. What I shouldn’t be doing is reading the Harry Potter novels for what is probably the twentieth time. I could choose to read Northanger Abbey, Shakespeare or any other text from my reading list. But no, where is the fun in doing something that could actually help my studies. Instead I’ll read The Chamber of Secrets once more time.  I’m sure at some point in my academic career knowing that Tom Riddle is the heir of Slytherin will be important. If not I may just have to invest in a time turner (what do you mean they’ve all been smashed?). Shit!

Internet

The internet is a vast resource of information that could be priceless to any student’s university studies. I could use it for good things, I could find the answer to those questions that are likely to come up in exams, I could find intelligent quotes that could support my essay arguments, they keep mentioning modernist writers, and I don’t understand what modernist means . Do I go searching through the web for these gems of knowledge? No, I go to YouTube, I go to Facebook to do a rant, or I end up on Amazon and order ten things that I don’t really need. Yes, I may have laughed at some funny videos of cats, I may have gained some Facebook likes, and I got a new shirt and pants. Am I more intelligent, is my essay finished? Nope, damn you Google Chrome.

Blogging

My newest form of procrastination, oh yes, believe me, I am procrastinating right now. But if I didn’t you wouldn’t be reading this right now and you wouldn’t be getting all these ideas for procrastinating … wait a moment that might not be a good thing … maybe I should wrap this up.

So my fellow procrastinators, I am off to do some work (ha-ha) … honestly …

Thanks for taking the time to read this, and feel free to follow my blog. if you got some expert tips for procrastinating, please leave them in a comment I’m always open to learn new bad ways to spend my time …

One thought on “Procrastination: Students’ best friend/worst enemy

Leave a Reply

